What happens if an uninsured driver hits you?
The stress of being in a car accident is further amplified if the car that hits you was operated by an uninsured driver.
A recent report from the Insurance Research Council (IRC) reveals that the estimated U.S. uninsured motorist rate is 12.6 percent. With this figure, you can assume that one out of every eight cars on the road has an uninsured motorist in the driver’s seat.
Here on the west coast, the numbers are even more astounding. More than 16% of California drivers do not have auto insurance, making our state tenth in the country for uninsured motorists.
If you have been hit by an uninsured driver, we are here to help. Ernst Law Group was established over 35 years ago to pursue justice and adequate compensation on your behalf. We are a plaintiff trial law firm, which means that our legal team is dedicated to getting the best results for victims who have been harmed by the wrongdoing of others.
We fully understand the frustration of uninsured vehicle collisions as well as the financial hardship you may be experiencing. Whether you need minor repairs or a whole new vehicle, our San Luis Obispo car accident attorneys are here for you.
With licensure and resources to litigate anywhere in the state, we are honored to extend these services to any victim in California. Call our office directly at (805) 549-4174 or use the online form to contact us to schedule your free case consultation.
Until then, use the information below if you have been struck by a driver who does not have insurance.
All vehicular collisions should be reported to the police, but this is especially true if the accident involves an uninsured driver. In the state of California, motor vehicle owners are required to show proof of financial responsibility or auto insurance at the scene of a car accident. Driving without it is a crime.
Call 911 and give them your location, license plate number, and the make and model of the vehicles involved. Alert the dispatcher to the fact that the car that hit you was operated by someone without car insurance.
If you do not feel safe approaching the uninsured driver who hit you, relay that information to the 911 operator and wait for the police to arrive.
If the driver of the car that hit you is cooperative, take down their personal information. It is important to get the full name of the driver, their home address, phone number, license plate number, and make and model of the car they were driving. If you can, write down their email address, work address, and social media handles.
If there were any other vehicles involved, jot down their license plate numbers and make and model as well. Additionally, if there were any witnesses to the accident, record their personal contact information as well. Witnesses can include passengers, nearby vehicles, pedestrians, or onlookers from roadside buildings.
If you have a cell phone, take photographs of the scene of the car accident from all angles. If there is damage, get close-up photos of the damage. Be sure to take one of the uninsured driver’s vehicle license plates.
If they are cooperative, it’s a great idea to take a photo of the uninsured motorist’s driver’s license as well, in case your notes are hard to read. Once you have these photos, step back and photograph the scene of the car wreck in landscape mode. These wide-angle shots can showcase the point of impact and be helpful in litigation.
Connect with the Reporting Officer
When the officer arrives, remain calm. You are the victim here, but the officer may not know that yet. Answer questions directly and honestly but do not talk excessively or fill in gaps with information you’re unsure of.
Be sure to get a business card from the reporting officers with their names and badge numbers, as well as any information you may need to access your collision report.
Seek Medical Care
If you are injured, seek the appropriate medical services. It can be scary to think about facing medical costs when you have been hit by someone without insurance, but your life and health are far too important.
In car accidents, sometimes it is best to seek care even if you don’t feel pain. Injuries such as back and muscle trauma can appear the next day or later in the week. Save every medical record and bill.
Contact Your Insurance Company
The good news is that you do have car insurance. Call your insurance agent as soon as possible or use an online service or app if that is more appropriate. Time is of the essence. It is best to call your insurance agent within 48 hours. Give them the factual details and do not claim that you are injury-free, as you don’t know that yet.
Put Together a Comprehensive File
What happens after an uninsured driver hits you often depends on how much evidence you could gather. When all is said and done and you are home safe, gather all the information you compiled, upload the photographs you took, and list the names and personal information of each person involved.
If you can save this to a digital file, be sure to email it to our team when we have our first case meeting, and be sure to save the physical documents in a safe space as well.
Call a California Car Accident Lawyer
Here is where we come in. Once an uninsured driver hits you, you become a victim. Victims shouldn’t have to worry about what happens after an uninsured driver hits them.
Your insurance company’s objective is to pay out the least amount of money possible. Ernst Law Group is here to relentlessly pursue justice and rightful compensation for you and your best interests.
From auto repairs, time lost at work, the cost of injuries, and the losses incurred from enduring trauma, we will advocate for you and relentlessly pursue a fair payment package.
Call our San Luis Obispo law office today at (805) 549-4174 or contact us online to schedule an appointment for a free case evaluation.